MTA has the honor of recognizing some of our outstanding members each year. All of the awards are selected by the Nominations Committee and are presented at the Annual Convention.

Gary Langley Memorial

The Gary Langley Memorial Worker of the Year Award is sponsored by the Tavern Times to recognize the employees who work so hard to make the hospitality industry great. One winner will be selected by the MTA Public Relations & Membership Committee to receive this prestigious award. They will be presented a plaque and $200 at the Awards Banquet during the annual Convention


The Durkee Award was created in 1997 to be presented to one person, either posthumously or to a living soul, in recognition of their outstanding service, unselfish contributions of time and effort and dedication to the betterment of the Montana Tavern Association, it’s members and goals.

The award is in honor of MTA’s late executive director, Marie Durkee, and her husband Bob, who advocated for association members as our lobbyist.

To nominate, please submit a written nomination, outlining how your nominee fits the criteria of the award. Nominations can be for one person or a couple working together to achieve these goals. Nominations can come from MTA members, employees, or community members.

The MTA Nominating Committee will review the submissions and the recipient will be presented the honor at the Awards Banquet at the Annual Convention.

Past recipients of the Durkee Award:

Mike Kenneally 2022
Jack Fisher 2021
Jim Johnson 2020
John Perino 2019
Neal LaFever 2018


Each year the American Beverage Licensees (ABL) allows each state to select a member to be presented the ROTY award. The Brown-Forman Retailer of the Year Awards provide us with an opportunity to recognize and honor our members – those individuals who serve as the face of the beverage alcohol industry to the consumer, said ABL Executive Director John Bodnovich. When selecting these members for their awards, there are numerous aspects of small business ownership that are taken into account; among these are: excellence in advocacy, responsible sales and service practices, community engagement, and their support of their state affiliate.

The national award is first presented at the ABL Annual Meeting in March and then presented at the state level at MTA's September Annual Convention. 

Past recipients of the ROTY Award include:

  • 2020 Josh Palmer, The Bozeman Hotel - Bozeman
  • 2019  Mertrice Marottek, Buckhorn Bar--Poplar 
  • 2018  Jim Johnson, Bull 'n Bear--Red Lodge
  • 2017  Bill Asbury, Buckeye Bar--Bridger